

New Orleans Chairmen Named by Persell

COMMITTEE appointments for the 46th Annual Meeting of the American Oil Chemists' Society in New Orleans April 18-20, 1955, are announced by Ralph M. Persell, general chairman, as follows:

Mrs. C. H. Fisher	Ladies' Program
T. H. Hopper	Technical Program
W. S. Singleton	Hotel Reservations
H. L. E. Vix	
C. L. Hoffpauir	Publicity
J. J. Ganucheau	Entertainment
J. A. Kime	Golf
E. A. Gastrock	Treasurer

The program committee is planning for papers of wide interest which have definite audience appeal. Anyone who wishes to offer a paper for presentation is



R. M. Persell

asked to submit the title, names of authors, and an abstract to the chairman, T. H. Hopper, as soon as possible and not later than March 1, 1955. Mr. Hopper's address is 2100 Robert E. Lee blvd., New Orleans 19, La. The committee is seeking a variety of technical papers dealing with research, methods, processing, and basic fundamental contributions in the fields of fats, oils, and related materials in order to prepare a well-rounded program of general interest.

Various technical and administrative committees will also meet during the

week, and the Governing Board, outgoing and incoming, will have two sessions, one in advance of the general program and the other at the close of the meeting. Other Society transactions will be scheduled by the president, C. E. Morris.

As in past meetings in New Orleans, headquarters will again be at the Roosevelt hotel. The Hotel Association has also allotted rooms at the St. Charles, Jung, and Monteleone hotels in addition to a substantial number at the Roosevelt. Hotel reservation requests should be sent direct to W. S. Singleton, hotel chairman, at his address: Southern Regional Research Laboratory, 2100 Robert E. Lee blvd., New Orleans 19, La. In making reservations, the date of arrival and of departure, first and second choice of hotel, whether double, single or twin bedroom is desired, and reservations for wives should be indicated. Those planning to attend are urged to make their reservations early since any rooms not assigned 15 days prior to April 17 automatically revert back to the control of the hotels. C. L. HOFFPAUIR



T. H. Hopper

W. S. Singleton

Appoints to Committees

C. E. Morris, president of the American Oil Chemists' Society, has appointed the following to committees: Gerald G. Wilson, General Mills, Kankakee, Ill., to Oil Color; R. A. Decker, Armour and Company, Chicago, to the subcommittee on consistency of the Fat Analysis Committee, replacing J. J. Ganuchean; and W. C. Pritchett, Kraft Foods, Glenview, Ill., to the FAC subcommittee on dilatometric methods.

Ghituaries

Samuel Gerstein (1954), of the Vernon Laboratories, Los Angeles, Calif., died on November 14, 1954.

Frank W. Porter (1953), research chemist, Best Foods Inc., Bayonne, N. J., died on September 19, 1954.

Your Opportunity

(Continued from page 4)

	Journal of the American Oil Chemists' Society 35 E. Wacker Drive, Chicago 1, Ill.		
J	Please send		
		Membership blank	
		Non-member subscription blank	
I		Sample copy of the Journal	
l		Author's style sheet	
		Advertising rate card	
		Reprints of an annual Journal index	
		Other	
•	TO.		
l			
(
	· -		